F-10 Overview

The Australian Curriculum sets consistent high standards for what all young Australians should learn as they progress through schooling. It prepares Australia’s next generation for the future and lays the building blocks for generations to come.

The Australian Curriculum focuses on learning area content and achievement standards that describe what students will learn and teachers will teach. It also gives attention to seven general capabilities that are important for life and work in the 21st century and to three issues identified in the Melbourne Declaration as needing more attention than they have received in curricula to date. The general capabilities and the cross-curriculum priorities are not added as additional subjects. They are dealt with, where relevant, through the learning area content on which the curriculum is built.

Learning areas

On 18 September 2015, Australian Education Ministers endorsed Foundation to Year 10 Australian Curriculum in all eight learning areas.

Learning areasF-10 subjects
English English
Mathematics Mathematics
Science Science
Humanities and Social Sciences F-6/7 Humanities and Social Sciences, 7-10 History, 7-10 Geography, 7-10 Civics and Citizenship, 7-10 Economics and Business
The Arts Drama, Dance, Media Arts, Music, Visual Arts
Technologies Design and Technologies, Digital Technologies
Health and Physical Education Health and Physical Education
Languages Arabic, Chinese, Italian, Indonesian, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Modern Greek, Spanish, Vietnamese
Work Studies 9-10 Work Studies 

In each curriculum, the content descriptions specify what all young people should be taught, and the achievement standards set out the depth of understanding and sophistication of skill expected of students at points in their schooling.

Other information is provided to support the content descriptions and achievement standards. Each curriculum includes a rationale, aims, year or band level descriptions, information on the organisation of the curriculum, content elaborations, annotated portfolios of student work samples and a glossary.

Education authorities in each state and territory determine the Australian Curriculum implementation timelines for schools. More information about state and territory implementation plans can be found on the ACARA website.

General capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities

The Australian Curriculum pays explicit attention to how seven general capabilities and three cross-curriculum priorities contribute to, and can be developed through each learning area.

The seven general capabilities are literacy, numeracy, information and communication technology capability, critical and creative thinking, personal and social capability, ethical understanding, and intercultural understanding. Learning continua are available for each capability, which describe the relevant knowledge, skills, behaviours and dispositions at particular points of schooling.

The Australian Curriculum focuses on three cross-curriculum priorities: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures, Asia and Australia’s engagement with Asia, and sustainability.

Viewing the curriculum online

The Australian Curriculum is published online to provide maximum flexibility in how the curriculum can be accessed and organised. For more information, refer to the website user guide.